This page last modified on Tuesday Dec 4, 2012
How do I know which PRI class I must attend?
(Please note - all individuals must attend at least a 12 hour education program in order to be eligible for license reinstatement.
The Prairie Ridge Weekend Jail/OWI Program is a program designed to fulfill both the Iowa Department of Transportation (DOT) education requirements and the court-mandated jail time for Operating While Intoxicated (OWI) offenses.
In order to attend this program, participants must have had their OWI substance abuse evaluation and be court ordered by a judge.
As a participant, you will receive the PRIME For Life education required by the State of Iowa in order to be eligible to reapply for your driver's license.
This program begins on Friday with sign-in at 5:00 p.m. Participants will receive four(4) hours of PRIME for Life education on Friday, eight(8) hours on Saturday and eight(8) hours on Sunday. The program will end promptly at 5:00 p.m. on Sunday.
During the program, participants will receive 20 hours of PRIME for Life education. PRIME for Life is the only education curriculum approved by the State of Iowa. It is an evidence-based program recognized by the National Registry of Evidence-Based Programs and Practices (NREPP).
This program is held at the Mason City Clarion Inn.
2101 - 4th Street S.W.
Mason City, IA 50401
FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS & REGISTRATION:
How will the court and DOT be notified of my completion?
Your instructor will notify the courts and DOT of your successful completion of the program within three business days after your program.
Will I be given breaks?
Breaks are given every 1 -1.5 hours during the education portion of the program.
Will I be allowed to leave the hotel or my hotel room?
Since this program also serves as jail time, as ordered by a judge, all participants are required to remain on site the entire weekend and remain in their hotel rooms unless instructed otherwise by Prairie Ridge staff members.
How do I register?
Registraton and payment is required prior to the date of the program. A registration form - see below - needs to be completed and attached with payment and mailed to Prairie Ridge or feel free to call or stop by our facility.
How can I pay?
Prairie Ridge accepts MasterCard, Visa and Discover as well as check/or cash. Payment is due at the time of registration. Notice will not be sent to the court or DOT until payment is validated.
Are there staff members available when I am not in class?
Prairie Ridge staff members will be on-site from 5 p.m. Friday to 5 p.m. Sunday
This program cost $375.00. Included in the cost of this program is the $115 DOT-mandated education fee, two nights of double occupancy hotel rooms, and meals for the weekend.
You may be eligible for the weekend jail program if: (ie: 20 hours of education coupled with 48 hours of lockdown)
* This is your first offense OWI.
* You have NOT served your minimum 48 hours jail time.
* A judge has approved, in a court order, that you can attend this program in lieu of jail time.
-Notice: This list is not inclusive. If you have further questions, about what program you can attend, please contact your attorney.
Clairion Inn 20 hour program (2013): A 12 hour class is always held on the Friday / Saturday of this program.
January 11, 12 & 13 / February 22, 23 & 24 / April 5, 6 & 7 / May 17, 18 & 19 / June 21, 22 & 23 / July 19, 20 & 21
You need the 12 hour class if:
* You have had more than one (1) OWI.
* You have already served your court ordered jail time.
Weekend OWI / Jail Program*
* Not to be confused with the 12 hour PRIme for Life OWI program.